

For Immediate Release Contact: Dr. Kristi Cole, 608-690-5100 <u>kristi.cole@tlabeloit.com</u>

MAY 29, 2025

## The Lincoln Academy Hosts Awards Night for Their First Graduating Senior Class of 2025

*BELOIT, Wis* - The Lincoln Academy in Beloit hosted their inaugural Senior Awards Night for their first graduating Class of 2025 on Tuesday, May 20, 2025. The event took place at the school and included a short reception after the formal presentation.

Presiding over the evening's ceremony included a welcome message from Dr. Kristi Cole, TLA CEO, followed by the presentation of awards from Janae Gile, TLA 6th-12th Grade Principal, Erin Wolf, TLA College and Career Counselor, Robert Cieplewski, TLA 6th-12th Grade Dean of Scholars, and Lieutenant Commander John Spiritosanto, USNR (Ret.), TLA NJROTC Instructor. Also present was Laura Benisch, TLA Director of Career Planning and Partnerships, as well as several TLA Board members and school staff.

Dr. Cole states, "We are so happy to be celebrating with our scholars and their families, recognizing them for their hard work and accomplishments. Our gratitude also extends to scholars' families for supporting their children and their choice to attend The Lincoln Academy."

Gile addressed the audience, "It's an honor to work with the scholars and staff here at TLA. This class has really worked hard and they truly live our values and virtues. You will see that through the awards and recognitions that scholars received and that we are sharing with you tonight."

TLA leadership team members work directly with scholars to understand their individual career interests and put them on an educational path toward preparing them for a future career. TLA provides many opportunities for scholars to explore different careers, as well as several opportunities to connect and

-more-

network with different employers in the region.

Several character awards, certifications, special recognitions, and scholarships were presented to the senior class. Every graduating scholar received awards. Cumulative achievements of the class as a whole were also shared:

- 100 percent graduation rate
- Over 460 college credits earned before high school graduation
- Over 2,300 service-learning hours documented
- 42 industry-recognized certifications earned
- 20,000 hours of documented work experience served on over 45 different job sites
- Over \$700,000 in scholarship dollars was raised for this class

TLA Class of 2025 Valedictorian is Mary Katherine McKearn, and the Salutatorian is Evelyn Hayward.

Included on the list of scholarships are:

- Stateline Community Foundation Adam R. Newton Scholarship
- Wisconsin Technical Excellence Scholarship
- Unity Grand Chapter, Order of the Eastern Star Scholarship
- Beloit College Scholarship
- Louisiana State University President's Scholarship
- Stateline Community Foundation Rotary Club Technical Scholarship
- Wisconsin Academic Excellence Scholarship
- Beloit Junior Woman's Club Scholarship (two awarded)
- Carroll University Merit Scholarship
- Stateline Community Foundation Schlichting Firefighter Scholarship
- UW-La Crosse Merit Scholarship
- Carroll University Voorhees Scholarship
- The Mowbray Scholarship UW-Whitewater at Rock County
- Stateline Community Foundation Pohl Family Scholarship
- Concordia Chicago Faculty Scholarship
- Olivet Nazarene Merit Scholarship
- Concordia Leadership Scholarship
- Beloit College Presidential Scholarship
- The Blender Scholarship (two awarded)

## -more-

The Lincoln Academy | Marketing Services 608 Henry Avenue, Beloit, WI 53511 www.thelincolnacademybeloit.com | @tlabeloit

- Stateline Community Foundation Tim McKearn Scholarship
- Hendricks CareerTek CNA Scholarship
- Eagle Scout Scholarship
- Stateline Community Foundation Rotary Scholarship
- Gleason Presidential Scholarship Ripon
- Stateline Community Foundation George Andrews Scholarship
- Ripon Commitment Scholarship
- Knight Foundation Scholarship
- Stateline Community Foundation Everett & Diana Haskell Scholarship (two awarded)
- Janesville Medical Staff Scholarship
- Stateline Community Foundation Rotary Club of Beloit Scholarship
- UW-Oshkosh Incoming Freshman Scholarship
- Knights of Columbus Scholarship

Presenting their scholarship awards in person were Mary Furman, President of the Beloit Junior Woman's Club along with Liz Bosetti; Michelle Penny from Beloit Health System, and Nick Dimassis, the Beloit Public Library Director.

The Lincoln Academy is a K4-12 free public charter school focused on rigorous academics, character development and career exploration. More information about The Lincoln Academy can be found at <a href="https://www.thelincolnacademybeloit.com">www.thelincolnacademybeloit.com</a>, by contacting the school directly at 608-690-5100, or <a href="https://www.thelincolnacademybeloit.com">info@tlabeloit.com</a>.

-more-

PHOTOS INCLUDED WITH THIS RELEASE:



Pictured (left to right): Erin Wolf, TLA College and Career Counselor; Robert Cieplewski, TLA 6th-12th Grade Dean of Scholars; Janae Gile, TLA 6th-12th Grade Principal; LTCD John Spiritosanto, USNR (Ret.), TLA NJROTC Instructor; Mary Furman, Beloit Junior Woman's Club President; Liz Bosetti, Beloit Junior Woman's Club; Michelle Penny, Volunteer Coordinator with Beloit Health System; Nick Dimassis, Beloit Public Library Director.



Valedictorian: Mary Katherine McKearn



Salutatorian: Evelyn Hayward

###

The Lincoln Academy | Marketing Services 608 Henry Avenue, Beloit, WI 53511 www.thelincolnacademybeloit.com | @tlabeloit